loader image

New Fixtures added to Logan Cup for the 2021/22

Vivian Banhire

Zimbabwe’s oldest first class (4 Dayers) cricket tournament, the Logan Cup is back with added fixtures.

Three additional first class games will be played by regional teams, the Notherns vs Southerns in the mould of Duleep Trophy in India where 3 select teams battle it out for Duleep Trophy at the end of the Ranji Season.

The new fixtures which have been confirmed by Zimbabwe Cricket to become a permanent fixture brings the total number of first class games to 23 from previous 20 games. This is a welcome move as the number of games played in the first class were too few to mould players for Test Matches.

Zimbabwe Cricket yesterday announced the fixtures for the new first class season on their social media pages. The new season is packed with at least 23 fixtures lined up from October through to April 2022.

Each of the five franchise teams will play each other twice in home and away situations. The teams are Eagles based in Harare, Mountaineers based in Mutare, Rhinos based in Midland’s town of Kwekwe, Tuskers based in Bulawayo and Rocks based in the town of Masvingo.

The opening week will see Eagles lock horns with Rocks at Takashinga whilst in the other fixture Mountaineers will host Rhinos at Harare Sports Club.

The matches will be hosted across 5 grounds, Harare Sports Club, Takashinga and Old Hararians all in Harare, Masvingo Country Club and Bulawayo Athletic Club.

There are indications that Mutare Sports Club and Kwekwe’s Queens Sports Club will host, domestic one dayers this coming season.

Last season, Logan Cup was dominated by Southern Rocks who won 4 out of 4 games to be the runaway winners with their players Roy Kaia and Tendai Chisoro topping the runs and wickets charts with 374 runs and 18 wickets respectively.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *