loader image

A fair Zimbabwean Squad for the Bangladesh Test

By Energy Mavaza

The Zimbabwe Cricket has announced a 20 man squad with little to no suprises in it including four uncapped players: Chivanga Tanaka, Joylord Gumbie, Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Dion Myers for the one-off Test against Bangladesh, which is set to start from July 7. Sean Williams retain the captaincy after missing out Pakistan T20 series in Harare 2 months ago. Another notable inclusion in the squad is Craig Ervine missed a couple of recent tours due to injury and last played Test in February 2020 in Murpur Bangladesh.

The squad is a fusion of young and old, tried and tested. The availability of the legendery former captain, Brandon Taylor always kindle any dying hope of salvaging a win as his capability of carrying the whole team on his shoulders is highly recognised.

The inclusion of Dion Myers and Milton Shumba is a justifiable indication that our future cricket is not heading towards the cemetry. After picking up a couple of half centuries, that were few runs shy of a century against a very experienced South Africa A, Myers was unanimously picked in the squad. Hopes are to see him making his test debut next week.

However, expectations to watch Wessy Madhevhere pick up from where he left on his ODI debut in Bangladesh 2020 was foiled as he couldnt be picked for this upcoming Bangladesh tour due to an unconvincing bating against Pakistan and Afghanstan.

As the selectors grapple to find a proper and regular opener, Jaylord Gumbie could be in it for a debut if considered by the coach on the matchday. Not to out-mention Tadiwanashe Kaitano and Kevin Kasuza who are other contenders for the opening bat post.

The middle order will not be short of contest as Roy Kaia, whose capabilities with the bat can not be under-mentioned, is retained to the squad after recovering from an injury he sustained during the second Test match against Pakistan in May 2021. One wonders how will Rajput dice with his spoilt choices in the middle order with Luke Jongwe, Tymicen Maruma and Regis Chakabva amongst the notable players.

Bouyed by a tounament winning perfomace in Abu Dhabhi two weeks ago, Blessing Muzarabani is expected to transform and mirror his perfomance into a longer version. Expected to partner Victor Nyauchi, Richard Nyarava or the retuinee strike bowler Tendai Chatara, the pace bowling attack will be inches away from the bad old pace attack that only fall short of the recently retired Kyle Jarvis.

Never-the-less Tanaka Chivhanga will be expected to have corrected all his mistakes as he earns another glorious callup in the squad regardless of him failing to pick a wicket in South African A tour to Harare.
Squad: Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Tendai Chisoro, Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Roy Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams (C), Chivanga Tanaka, Joylord Gumbie, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Dion Myers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *